Lovely Review for My Fingerpaint Masterpiece from Wild About Reading

Beautiful Readers!

Beautiful Readers!

Thank you Donalisa Helsley for the lovely review for My Fingerpaint Masterpiece!

My Fingerpaint Masterpiece” tells the story of a young child makes a finger paints a picture in school but does not finish it. The student carries it home but a gust of wind blows it away. Later the child sees it in an art gallery where it has won first place in an art contest. Everyone is gushing about this masterpiece by a professional artist. I won’t give anymore away.

My children and I LOVED this new book my Sherrill Cannon. I like how the child narrates the story is never identified as a boy or girl. There are many lessons in this book: self esteem, honesty, and perception. My 7 year old thought the most important lesson is to: “ Always put your name on your work. You might get famous and no one will know it is your work.”

Both of my children are talented artist and the youngest one gets down often because her 12 year old sister draws better. She will sometimes cry and rip up her own artwork. She took away from this story that art is open to interpretation and the perception of others. When I ask her what she’s drawing she now asks “What do you see?”

Once again, Ms. Cannon, you have created a masterpiece!

Leave a Reply

